Let Them Talk… Always Let Them Talk

Today I had the nicest experience.  I have a great set of helpers that join me religiously during their first recess.  They hate going outside, and (being a primary teacher) I often need help doing something in class.  These grade five girls save my bacon on a regular basis.

Today they hooked up and connected a desktop computer for me.  When I asked them to do it their eyes bugged out.  They were intimidated.

Then I gave them 2 rules:

1) If you think you break something (if there’s a crack or a smash) tell me right away so that I can fix it.  I won’t be mad.  I break things all of the time.

2) Don’t ask me for help.  Ask each other.  Feel free to look at how the other desktop is setup for clues.

I pretended to work and secretly listened to the conversations that they were having.  Such deep and motivated learning.

At the end we were ready to boot it up… there was silence. 

When the login screen came on, all five grade fives cheered and high-fived each other.

I do need quiet in my day, but as much as possible, I try to let kids talk.  They need it.  It helps them learn.

Leave a Reply

