Keep Social Media Social

Dear Mr. McPherson’s Class,

My name is Stepan Pruchnicky, and I’m a friend of your teacher’s.  I teach at a downtown school in the TCDSB.  The two of us often chat about new things we’re trying with our classes.  Tonight he asked me for some feedback on a twitter assignment that you’re doing.  So… I’m writing to you because it’s your assignment, not his.

First, I’ve got to admit that I’m a little bit jealous.  I love Deborah Ellis’ books.  Unfortunately, the grade twos that I teach are really not ready for the subject matter that she discusses in her books.  You’re lucky to be a reading such a great book this year.

Your Tweets:

They’re good.  Wonderful use of voice.  You’re really able to work within the confines of 140 characters to send out some good messages.  Hashtags are used beautifully too.

Here are two next steps to consider.  

1) Pictures and video.  They add a lot to what you’re saying in your tweets.  They send out messages that words sometimes cannot.

2) (The big one) Don’t forget the SOCIAL in social media.  You don’t want to be a Kardashian when you tweet.  

image

Don’t use Twitter to push out content.  Use it to engage with others.  I loved when Squid (JG) tweeted a question to Valerin.  It would be so powerful if others did the same.  It would be even more powerful if you responded to each others questions and made this a real conversation.

High five to all of you.  Keep up the good work. I’m really looking forward to seeing what’s next.

Leave a Reply

