Personalized Teaching & Individualized Learning

At around 6 AM every day, I’m learning a lot about personalized teaching and individualized learning.  

On the first day of school this year, I added Mysore Yoga into my morning routine.  I started the morning practice as a natural extension to the yoga that I have been doing for the past couple of years.  I had no idea that I would be learning so much about teaching through this practice. Here’s a short glimpse of what the practice looks like:

Basically, each student goes through a series of set asanas (poses). Every day the poses are the same, and they follow the same sequence. He/she commits poses to memory and advances through the series at his/her own pace.  

image

At my studio there are always two teachers that roam through the studio and adjust and help students with their next steps for growth.  Some of their cues are visual, some are kinaesthetic, some are verbal. The teachers do not lead the class.  Students progresses through their learning with help from their teachers.  Teachers meet students where they’re at in their learning.

It’s amazing.

Since September my learning curve has gone from gradual to focused.  I’ve learned so much in the past five weeks!  

That’s gotten me thinking about how I do business in the classroom.

This kind of personalized teaching appears in guided groups and personalized conferences.  It allows for students to really grow from the expertise that their teachers have to offer.  Usually it’s just little corrections, but those corrections stick.

I’m thinking I don’t do enough of that with my fives.

The next questions are: when, where, and how?  What is the sequence of asanas that we work through in grade five (metaphorically speaking)?  What skills deserve this kind of priority? Would children react to this type of teaching the same way as I do?

Mysore brain.

Leave a Reply

