Homework = Do Great Things!

Yesterday I asked my twitter PLN for articles about homework.  I was having a bit of an identity crisis when it came to why I like/dislike homework.  I had convincing arguments that were very pro-homework.  I also had some convincing arguments that were anti-homework.

And then I got this:

This came from an old friend Nicole.  She wasn’t responding to a request for homework articles.  She was sending me something that she knew that I would love.  

As I watched, everything started to clear up.  

Kids need a chance to do great things with their time.  If the homework we provide allows them to grow and become as great as these young musicians, then cool.  Otherwise, why are we doing it?  Something to think about the next time we give kids a stack of things to “practice in their free time”.

One thought on “Homework = Do Great Things!

Leave a Reply

