Street Knowledge

“You are now about to witness the strength of street knowledge.”

While I’m sure that N.W.A. wasn’t referring to google maps when they said this at beginning of Straight Outta Compton, this line was all I could think about when I stumbled on to this map today:

This is a curated map that tells the story of Hae Min Lee’s murder from the first season of Serial (a hugely successful podcast from the Fall of 2014).  Someone took all of the important locations from the story and plotted them on this google map.

I know, the skeptics are saying: “Big deal, someone marked the plot and setting of a story in an unconventional way. Nice gimmick.” 

But that’s not what I see.  

I see deep thinking and understanding of a text.  I see evidence of listening (or learning made visible if you want to take a page from one of Ontario’s latest Capacity Building monographs).  I see opportunities to learn more (if you click on each of the locations, then you can see them in street view; you can plot times and distances to corroborate or disprove Adnan and Jay’s stories).  I see an example of passionate learning.

I also wonder about the many different ways that students could create custom maps to act as tools for and evidence of learning.

Leave a Reply

