Homophily

image

In her book It’s Complicated,  Danah Boyd connects homophily to social networks.  In essence she says that while there is the opportunity to hear from a variety of voices online, we typically curate our social media feeds to be a set of like-minded voices.  We seek out others that are like us, not different from us.

As I read her words I wondered if this was because we seek validation through our networks. Are we just looking for yes men/women?

image

Her words have me wondering why I follow so many teachers on twitter. Am I just seeking validation?  Am I filling my feeds with YES people?

This is not an existential crisis.  I’m not freaking out or readying myself to purge my networks of educators.  I’m just wondering how to hear the other side of the story.  How do I counterbalance for this naturally occurring phenomenon?

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

